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2011 Rules Now Online
8376.5, Exemptions to Registration
Adopted at the February Meeting

The Board adopted an amendment to the
Facility Registration Chapter in order to
exempt ECI from facility registration when
ECI services are provided in the
community. The rule amendment became
effective on March 10, 2011. All rules
which were adopted between January 1,
2010 and the February board meeting were
incorporated into the new edition of the
TBOTE Rules.
http://www.ecptote.state.tx.us/ot/rules.html

SNOW DAY IN AUSTIN: Austin
American Statesman Newspaper
prints photo: “Worlds Smallest
Snowman”

February 4" was a snow day in Austin; all
schools, government agencies, etc. were
closed. Feb 4™ was also the day of a
scheduled Investigation Committee
meeting. Since no meeting could be held,
no Agreed Orders could be issued.
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Board Member prepared a

Decision Tree for the Website
DeLana Honaker, OTR, PhD has prepared
a decision tree for choosing Type 1 and
Type 2 continuing education choices, which
is on the website on the About CE
webpage. View it here:
http://www.ecptote.state.tx.us/ot/ce/

Snapshot of Licensees on August
31, 2010; End of Fiscal Year

OT Facilities: 1,368

OT/OTA Applications: 877; 76% online
OT/OTA Renewals: 4,117, 93% online
TOTAL Licensees as of 8/31/2010, not
including inactive licensees or temporary
licensees: 10,024.

Current Restoration Changes
Since January 1, 2010, OTs and OTAs
have had the opportunity to restore their
expired Texas license by various means.
Here are the options:

1. The former Texas licensee who
holds a current license in another
state may restore the Texas license
with a verification of the current state
license.

2. The expired license may be restored
if the license is expired more than 1
year and less than 2 by completing
45 hours of continuing education,
with a minimum of 30 hours of Type
2.

3. The expired license may be restored
by a former licensee by attending a
refresher/re-entry course through an
accredited college or university.
Links to these programs are found
on our “Got a Question” page of the
website: www.ecptote.state.tx.us

4. Another way to restore an expired
license is by obtaining an advanced
degree in occupational therapy.

5. The last way to restore an expired
license is the way that it has been
done for years; that is, to re-take the
NBCOT exam “for licensure
purposes only,” plus complete extra
continuing education hours.

Current rules outline these methods and the
list of licenses which are expired less than 2
years is updated monthly and posted on the
website. If you are aware of old classmates
or friends who have let their license expire
and are interested in returning to their
former profession, please forward this
information to them. Have them phone the
renewal department or personally check the
rules online. The Forms page of the
website has the Restoration Form, which is
different than the application Form. Lastly,
the fees to restore an expired license have
been lowered. The amendment to license
restoration was made possible by a change
in the OT Practice Act supported by TOTA
in the last legislative session.

School Visits in 2010

In the point of view that “an ounce of
prevention is worth a pound of cure,”

the Chief Investigator and OT Coordinator
made presentation to students in the
following OT and OTA programs: Texas
Tech; TWU Dallas, Denton and Houston;
UT Health Science Center, UT PanAm, UT
El Paso and UTMB; Austin Community
College; Del Mar College; Houston
Community College; Laredo Community
College; Lone Star Tomball; Navarro
College; Panola College, South Texas
Community College; and St Phillips
College.
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ZTE Frequently Requested Numbers

Texas Board of Occupational Therapy
Examiners (TBOTE)

Act & Rules, complaints, and practice of OT in
Texas

512/305-6900 telephone

512/305-6970 fax

Website: www.ecptote.state.tx.us

Email: inffo@ecptote.state.tx.us

Texas Occupational Therapy
Association (TOTA)
512/454-8682 telephone
512/450-1777 fax

www.tota.org

American Occupational Therapy
Association (AOTA)

Specialty certification, student fieldwork,
national issues, etc.

301/652-2682 telephone

www.aota.org

National Board for Certification in
Occupational Therapy (NBCOT)
National certification exam, and score reports
301/990-7979 telephone

301/869-8492 fax

www.nbcot.org

Dept. of Assistive and Rehab. Services
(DARS)

Division of Early Childhood Intervention (ECI)
512/424-6790 telephone

512/424-6799 fax

www.dars.state.tx.us/ecis/

Early Childhood Education

DARS, ECI

4900 N Lamar

Austin, TX 78751-2399
http://www.dars.state.tx.us/ecis/index.shtml

Medicare and Medicaid
http://www.cms.gov/

www.medicare.gov

Medicare Part A

888/763-9836 (Rehab Dept, Hospital)
Medicare Part B

903/463-0720 (independent practitioners)
Medicare fraud, or abuse of a Medicare: 800-
447-8477.

Medicaid: 800/252-8263
http://www.hhsc.state.tx.us/medicaid/

Medicaid provider fraud, or abuse of a Medicaid

recipient: 512/463-2011 or email
mfcu@aog.state.tx.us

School Health and Related Services
(SHARS)
www.tea.state.tx/interagency/shars.html

Texas Dept. Aging and Disability
Services (DADS)

800/458-9858 Long term care & complaints
about nursing home, home health agency, or
assisted living facility.

800/252-8016 Nursing homes
512/719-3521 Licensing Boards
800/228-1570 Home health agency

Elderly or disabled abuse, neglect call
800/252-5400.

www.dads.state.tx.us

Texas Dept. of State Health Services
(TDSH)

512/834-6650 Hospital licensing
www.tshs.state.tx.us

Texas Online Services

License applications, renewals, profile
www.texasonline.com

877-452-9060 Help desk
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