Physical Therapy Licensure Compact

The Physical Therapy Licensure Compact (PTLC) is a state-based solution to the challenges of interstate licensure portability for physical therapists (PTs) and physical therapist assistants (PTAs). It will improve patient access to physical therapy services by giving eligible licensees in participating states a faster, less expensive alternative to traditional licensure.

Texas joined the PTLC with the enactment of the enabling statutes in Senate Bill 317 that was signed into law by Governor Greg Abbott on June 9, 2017. 

The  Compact Commision has set a fee of  $45, and the Texas fee of $50 was adopted by the Executive Council of Physical Therapy & Occupational Therapy Examiners on February 9, 2018 to be effective March 1, 2018.

Compact privileges for Texas  licensees to practice in another member state and for licensees of other member states to be able to practice in Texas are available effective January 02, 2019.


Individuals applying for a compact privilege to Texas must:

     – take and pass the TX Jurisprudence Assessment Module (TX JAM) prior to issuance of the compact privilege.

         (For more information on the TX JAM, please go to

      – complete and submit a Compact Privilege Practice Location  form.

Information regarding the availability of compact privileges and the procedure for applying for a privilege  is available online at

If you have any questions regarding the PT Licensure Compact, please email the Compact Commission at