OT Inactive & Retired Status

Inactive and Retired Status

New requirement effective for renewals on or after January 1, 2019: Fingerprinting. Please see the announcement on the homepage for further information. Fingerprinting is a required item for renewals on or after January 1, 2019. Licensees in their 3-month renewal window are encouraged to submit their fingerprints early in their renewal window.      

Refer to §371.1- §371.2 in the OT rules for the current information on the inactive and retired status.  The change of status may be made only at renewal time, but the CE requirement must be satisfied before this move.  It is not an option for those who have not completed the continuing education.  This move may not be completed online.

  • When the licensee is not working in occupational therapy an inactive status license is an option.

    • With an inactive status license one may not practice occupational therapy at all, not PRN and not as a consultant.
    • An inactive status licensee must still obtain 30 hours of continuing education each renewal period.
    • The inactive status licensee may be renewed up to 3 renewals or 6 years, and then the licensee must return to active status, even if not working, or initiate retired status.
    • Fingerprinting is not a requirement to initiate or renew an inactive status license.
    • The inactive status licensee is still part of the continuing education audit.
    • The inactive status licensee can return to active status at any time after meeting requirements. The licensee must pass the jurisprudence exam and submit fingerprinting information, a paper renewal form with payment of the full renewal fee, and any other requirements as applicable.  
    • The inactive status licensee must renew the inactive status with a paper renewal form and not online. 
    • To initiate inactive status or to renew an inactive status license, download the OT/OTA License Renewal Form and check Inactive Status as your choice. The online jurisprudence exam may be accessed from this link.
    • For further information and regulations, see the OT Rules and Act.

    The licensee may choose to put the license on retired status. 

    • This option means the licensee will pay a minimal fee, do minimal CE, changing status at renewal time on a paper retired status form.
    • The retired licensee can only work for a non-profit for no remuneration. 
    • Return to active status is restricted, so this is a path that should be carefully considered. Check the rules before making this move.

    Read the OT Rules for the current information on the inactive and retired status.  The change of status may be made only at renewal time, but the CE requirement must be satisfied before this move.  It is not an option for those who have not completed the continuing education requirement.

    Use the Retired License Application/Renewal form to put your license in retired status or renew that status. 

    The online jurisprudence exam may be accessed from this link.

    For further information and regulations, see the OT Rules and Act.   

  •  
    get adobe_reader

    ECPTOTE, 333 Guadalupe, Suite 2-510 • Austin, TX 78701-3942 • Phone: (512) 305-6900
    Fax: (512) 305-6970 or (512) 305-6951 • www.ptot.texas.gov • Contact Us  •  Sitemap

    Texas.govTexas Homeland Security TRAIL Texas Veterans Portal | TX Occupations Code | Where the Money Goes
    Search TX State Sites SAO Fraud Reporting | Poison Control Center Governor's Committee on People with Disabilities