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Next Board Meeting 
 

October 10, 2025 
1801 Congress Ave, Ste.10.900 

Austin, Texas 78701 
 

 

89th Legislative Regular Session – Sine Die   
 
With the close of the 89th Legislative Regular Session, a number of bills 
that require amendments to the PT Rules passed through both the House 
and Senate and were signed into law by Governor Greg Abbott. 
 
At its July 10th meeting, the PT Board’s Rules & Practice Committee began 
the rulemaking process by reviewing bills and crafting amendment 
language to recommend to the PT Board on July 11th. The following are 
bills with their rulemaking actions: 
 
HB 4099 amends the PT Practice Act - Texas Occupations Code 
§453.301(a)(3)(B) and (b). Specifically, the amendment changes the 
number of days a physical therapist (PT) who possesses a doctoral degree 
in physical therapy or has completed at least 30 CCUs in the area of 
differential diagnosis can treat a patient without a referral from “for not 
more than 10 consecutive business days” to “for not more than 30 
consecutive calendar days.”  
 
Additionally, the requirement for a PT to possess a doctoral degree and 
either has completed a physical therapy residency or fellowship or is 
certified by an entity approved by the board to treat a patient without a 
referral for not more than 15 consecutive business days has been 
eliminated. The effective date for these amendments to the Act is 
September 1, 2025. 
 

The Board proposed amendments to PT Rules §322.1. Provision of 
Services (a)(2)(D)-(G) to affect these changes. 
 
Provisions of the Act and Rules that remain unchanged and must be 
adhered to when a PT provides treatment without a referral are: 
 

• Only a PT with a doctoral degree in physical therapy or who has 
completed 30 CCUs in the area of differential diagnosis can treat 
without a referral. 

• A PT must have been licensed to practice physical therapy for at 
least one year. 

Continued pg. 2 
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89th Legislative Regular Session – Sine Die, cont. from pg. 1 
 

• Coverage by professional liability insurance in the minimum amount of $100,000 per claim and $300,000 
aggregate per year is required for a PT who treats without a referral. 

• A PT must obtain a signed PT Treatment Without Referral Disclosure form prior to initiating treatment without a 
referral. (form available on Board’s website) 
 

The date that treatment is initiated without a referral determines how many treatments will be allowed. Patients seen 
prior to September 1, 2025 will have 10 or 15 consecutive business days depending on the qualifications of the PT; those 
after will have 30 consecutive calendar days. 
 
HB 1700 amends Texas Occupations Code §111.004. Specifically, the amendment requires each agency with regulatory 
authority over a health professional providing telehealth service to adopt rules necessary to standardize formats for 
and retention of records related to a patient’s consent to treatment, data collection, and data sharing. The effective 
date for these amendments is September 1, 2025. 
 
The Board proposed amendments to PT Rules §322.5. Telehealth (e) to standardize formats for and retention of records 
related to a patient’s consent to treatment, data collection, and data sharing when providing physical therapy services 
via telehealth. 
 
HB 5629 amends Texas Occupations Code §55.004 and §55.0041. The amendments relate to the occupational licensing 
of military service members, military veterans, and military spouses. The effective date for these amendments is 
September 1, 2025. 
 

The Board proposed amendments to the PT Rules §329.1. General Licensure Requirements and Procedures (a)(2) 
relating to the exemption of the non-refundable application fee for active U.S. military service members, military 
spouses, or military veterans.  
 

Additionally, the Board proposed amendments to PT Rules §329.7. Exemptions from Licensure. (b)(5) and (c) relating to 
exemptions from licensure for active military service members and military spouses and relating to a license in good 
standing with another state’s licensing authority. These amendments also align with federal statute - 50 USC 4025a: 
Portability of professional licenses of servicemembers and their spouses which is included in the Servicemembers Civil 
Relief Act (SRCA). 
 
SB 912 amends Chapter 112, Occupations Code by adding Subchapter C relating to continuing education requirements 
and verification of continuing education compliance through the establishment of continuing education tracking 
systems. Additionally, a licensing entity that has an agreement in place with a continuing education tracking system 
provider may maintain that agreement.  
 
The Board proposed amendments to the PT Rules §341.2. Continuing Competence Requirements to establish that the 
development and maintenance of an online repository for storing and tracking of continuing competence activities is 
part of the Request for Approval (RFP) for the Continuing Competence Approval Program (CCAP). 
 

The Texas Physical Therapy Association (TPTA) has been awarded the administration of CCAP through the RFP process 
and maintains a CCU Tracker for TX licensees online at https://ccap.tpta.org/.  
 

All of the above proposed Rules amendments have been approved by the Executive Council of Physical Therapy & 
Occupational Therapy Examiners (ECPTOTE) and the Regulatory Compliance Division of the Governor's Office and will 
be posted in the August 22, 2025 edition of the Texas Register for public comment. The amendments will be on the 
Board’s October 10th agenda for final adoption with an effective date of November 1, 2025. 
 

The specific language for each of the amendments is available online at https://ptot.texas.gov/act-and-rules/ under PT 
Proposed Rules. 
 

 
 

https://ptot.texas.gov/
https://ccap.tpta.org/
https://ptot.texas.gov/act-and-rules/
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Disciplinary Actions 
 

Disciplinary Actions taken at the July 11, 2025 Board Meeting: 
 

1. Kearstin Colley, PT #1259255 (Many, LA) - failed to properly renew license by not completing the required 
amount of continuing competence units (CCUs) prior to renewing license. Violation of Section 453.351 of 
the Act and Chapter 341 of the Board Rules. Board Order required (30) hours of community service. 
 

2. Marie Woerner, PT #1183949 (Fort Worth) - practiced with an expired license. Violation of Section 453.351 
of the Act and Chapter 322.4 of the Board Rules. Board Order required (30) hours of community service. 
 

3. Tammy Bemko, PTA #2089360 (Pearland) - practiced with an expired license. Violation of Section 453.351 
of the Act and Chapter 322.4 of the Board Rules. Board Order required (30) hours of community service. 
 

4. Arthur Hatfield, PTA #2119327 (Amarillo) - practiced with an expired license. Violation of Section 453.351 
of the Act and Chapter 322.4 of the Board Rules. Board Order required (30) hours of community service. 
 

5. Michael Shkatov, PTA #2167718 (Houston) - practiced with an expired license. Violation of Section 453.351 
of the Act and Chapter 322.4 of the Board Rules. Board Order suspended license to practice for (30) days. 
 

6. Laura Guarin, PT #1168790 (Sugarland) - practiced with an expired license. Violation of Section 453.351 of 
the Act and Chapter 322.4 of the Board Rules. Board Order suspended license to practice for (45) days. 
 

7. Jeffrey Camp, PTA #2170600 (Helotes) - practiced with an expired license. Violation of Section 453.351 of 
the Act and Chapter 322.4 of the Board Rules. Board Order suspended license to practice for (45) days. 
 

8. Leon Nguyen, PTA #2166888 (Houston) - practiced with an expired license. Violation of Section 453.351 of 
the Act and Chapter 322.4 of the Board Rules. Board Order suspended license to practice for (45) days. 
 

9. Eric Winston, PTA #2115495 (Plano) - practiced with an expired license. Violation of Section 453.351 of the 
Act and Chapter 322.4 of the Board Rules. Board Order suspended license to practice for (60) days. 
 

10. Christine Cockrell, PTA #2038719 (Gatesville) - was charged with two felonies of improper relationship 
between educator/student while using a license by another licensing authority with pending disciplinary 
action. Violation of Section 453.351 of the Act. Board Order to refrain from practice in the home health 
environment for (36) months and no pediatric care for (36) months. 
 

11. Bernardo Cornejo, PT #1159340 (El Paso) - was imprisoned following a felony conviction. Violation of 
Section 453.351 of the Act and Section 53.021(b) of the Texas Occupations Code.  Board Order revoked 
license to practice. 
 

12. Keely Bass, PT #1360768 (Double Oak) - practiced in a detrimental manner by failing to cooperate with the 
agency by not responding to agency correspondence addressed to the license holder’s official address 
within 90 days. Violation of Section 453.351 of the Act and Chapter 322.4 of the Board Rules. Board Order 
suspended license to practice for (30) days. 

Continued pg. 4 
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Disciplinary Action, cont. from pg. 3 
 

13. Skylar Jones, PTA #2092563 (Waxahachie) - practiced in a detrimental manner by failing to cooperate with the 
agency by not responding to agency correspondence addressed to the license holder’s official address within 
90 days and failing to notify the board in writing of changes in address of record within 30 days of the change. 
Violation of Section 453.351 of the Act and Chapters 322.4 and 329.1 of the Board Rules. Board Order 
suspended license to practice for (30) days. 
 

14. Humphrey Oforka, PTA #2173152 (San Antonio) - practiced in a detrimental manner by failing to document 
services in a timely manner. Violation of Section 453.351 of the Act and Chapters 322.4 and 322.1 of the Board 
Rules. Board Order suspended license to practice for (30) days. 
 

15. Matthew Hever, PT #1367705 (Windcrest) - practiced in a detrimental manner by failing to document physical 
therapy services, inaccurately recording, falsifying, or altering patient/client records. Violation of Section 
453.351 of the Act and Chapter 322.4 of the Board Rules. Board Order suspended license to practice for (30) 
days. 
 

16. Aderike Adenle, PT #1310208 (Celina) - practiced in a detrimental manner by failing to document physical 
therapy services, inaccurately recording, falsifying, or altering patient/client records. Violation of Section 
453.351 of the Act and Chapter 322.4 of the Board Rules. Board Order suspended license to practice for (30) 
days. 
 

17. Rodisa Dayandante, PTA #2151312 (Weatherford) - practiced in a detrimental manner by failing to document 
physical therapy services, inaccurately recording, falsifying, or altering patient/client records. Violation of 
Section 453.351 of the Act and Chapter 322.4 of the Board Rules. Board Order suspended license to practice 
for (30) days.  
 

18. Shannon Berry, PTA #2070813 (Port Arthur) - practiced in a detrimental manner by failing to document 
physical therapy services, inaccurately recording, falsifying, or altering patient/client records. Violation of 
Section 453.351 of the Act and Chapter 322.4 of the Board Rules. Board Order suspended license to practice 
for (45) days.  
 

19. Diana Wyatt, PTA #2046449 (Granbury) - practiced in a detrimental manner by failing to document physical 
therapy services, inaccurately recording, falsifying, or altering patient/client records and practiced outside the 
scope of PTA license. Violation of Section 453.351 of the Act and Chapter 322.4 of the Board Rules. Board Order 
suspended license to practice for (90) days.  
 

20. Melissa Smith, PT #1251012 (Buffalo Gap) - practiced in a detrimental manner by failing to document physical 
therapy services, inaccurately recording, falsifying, or altering patient/client records and failing to assess a 
patient’s/client’s status. Violation of Section 453.351 of the Act and Chapter 322.4 of the Board Rules. Board 
Order suspended license to practice for (45) days.  
 

21. Mark De Anda, PT #1170429 (San Antonio) - practiced in a detrimental manner by failing to supervise and 
maintain the supervision of supportive personnel, licensed or unlicensed. Violation of Section 453.351 of the 
Act and Chapter 322.4 of the Board Rules. Board Order suspended license to practice for (45) days.  

Continued pg. 5 
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Disciplinary Action, cont. from pg. 4 
 
 

22. Amy Holladay, PTA #2175091 (Woodway) - practiced in a detrimental manner by abandoning or neglecting 
patient(s) under current care without making reasonable arrangements for the continuation of such care. 
Violation of Section 453.351 of the Act and Chapter 322.4 of the Board Rules. Board Order suspended license 
to practice for (30) days and to refrain from practice in the home health environment for (36) months. 
 

23. Dylan Larned, PT #1402346 (New Braunfels) - practiced in a detrimental manner by abandoning or neglecting 
patient(s) under current care without making reasonable arrangements for the continuation of such care. 
Violation of Section 453.351 of the Act and Chapter 322.4 of the Board Rules. Board Order suspended license 
to practice for (45) days. 

 

 

Upcoming PT Board Meetings 

 
The following dates have been set for the Board’s upcoming quarterly meetings: 

 
• October 10, 2025 
• January 16, 2026 
• April 17, 2026 

 

Committee meetings will be scheduled prior to the Board meetings as needed. 
 

Meeting dates are subject to change. Check for updated information online at: 
https://ptot.texas.gov/meeting-dates/  

 
 

 
 

Agency Holiday Schedule 
 

The Executive Council of Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy Examiners (ECPTOTE) will be closed for 
upcoming holidays according to the schedule below: 

 

LBJ Day* 
Wednesday, August 27, 2025 

 

Labor Day 
Monday, September 1, 2025 

 
* State holiday with skeleton crew – minimum services available 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 

https://ptot.texas.gov/meeting-dates/
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Proposed/ Adopted Rules 
 

 

The Board took the following rulemaking actions at its July 11, 2025 meeting.  
 

Adopted Rules: Amendments to §341.2. Continuing Competence Requirements. (g) relating to 
Continuing Competence Audits is adopted to clarify that failure to submit documentation of the required 
number of approved CCUs taken within the audited renewal period may result in disciplinary action. 
Additionally, the amendment includes licensees who are more than 90 days up to one year late renewing 
in the Continuing Competence Audit instead of requiring submission of CCU documentation upon renewal. 

 
Proposed Rules:  
 

§322.1 Provision of Services - amendment is proposed to implement changes to the PT Practice Act 
pursuant to HB 4099, 89th Regular Session (2025). 
 

  §322.5 Telehealth – amendment is proposed regarding informed consent to implement changes to  
  Texas Occupations Code §111.004 pursuant to HB 1700, 89th Regular Session (2025). 
 
 §329.1. General Licensure Requirements and Procedures and 
 §329.7. Exemptions from Licensure - amendments are proposed to implement changes pursuant to HB    
 5629, 89th Regular Session (2025) relating to the occupational licensing of military service members,  
 military veterans, and military spouses. 
 
§341.2. Continuing Competence Requirements - amendment is proposed to implement changes pursuant 
to SB 912, 89th Regular Session (2025) relating to continuing education requirements and verification of 
continuing education compliance through the establishment of continuing education tracking systems. 
   
The text of the proposed amendments and the current PT Rules and PT Practice Act are available online at 
https://ptot.texas.gov/act-and-rules/.  
 
The PT Rules will be updated to reflect the Adopted Rules noted above effective September 1, 2025.  
 
The PT Practice Act will be updated to reflect the changes pursuant to HB 4099 effective September 1, 2025. 
 
You can view the proposed Rules amendments when published in the Texas Register on August 22, 2025  
at https://www.sos.state.tx.us/texreg/index.shtml.  
 
To view the text of the bills, search Texas Legislature Online at https://capitol.texas.gov/.    

 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 

https://ptot.texas.gov/act-and-rules/
https://www.sos.state.tx.us/texreg/index.shtml
https://capitol.texas.gov/
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You must report your CCUs, submit the renewal application and pay the renewal fee to complete the 
renewal process. Here are some helpful tips to ensure that your online license renewal is successful. 
 

• Plan Ahead: Start obtaining your CCUs well before your license expiration date. The two-year 
renewal period in which you must obtain your CCUs is the first day of the month following your 
license expiration date through the following license expiration date. First time renewals are  
extended beyond twenty-four months to transition to birth-month renewal. 

• Keep Accurate CCU Records: Maintain thorough records of your CCUs including the TX approval 
number for each course/activity. You can use the CCU Tracker at https://ccap.tpta.org/ to help 
keep track of your CCU documentation. You must maintain the original completion documents 
for four years after the license expiration date and submit them to the Board if you are 
randomly selected for the CCU Audit. 

• Renew Early: Don’t wait until your license is about to expire before starting the renewal 
process. There is a 90-day eligibility window prior to your license expiration date in which you 
can report your CCUs and complete the renewal application. Renew early to avoid last minute 
delays in renewing and to avoid interruption in your eligibility to practice. If your license expires 
before updated license information is displayed on the online verification system, you may not 
practice until the renewal process has been completed.  

       

                     

 
New Online Licensing System - Renewing Your License   

 
With the rollout of the new Online Licensing System in March of this year, there are several changes for 
licensees who are renewing their license. The renewal process consists of the following: 
 

• Reporting your CCUs on the Continuing Competence Activity Summary 
• Submitting the renewal application with fee payment 

Both of the above must be completed before your license will be renewed. 

 
Reporting Your CCUs 
 

If you completed all the required CCUs prior to your license expiration date, report your CCUs on the 
Continuing Competence Activity Summary by logging in at https://ptot.texas.gov/renew-license/ with your 
license number and last name in lowercase. Previous renewals used this format for CCU reporting. 
 

If you did not complete all of the required CCUs prior to your license expiration date or are renewing your 
license in the Inactive Status or Retired Status: Performing Voluntary Charity Care, complete the Continuing 
Competence Activity Summary form available online at https://ptot.texas.gov/forms/ and email to 
exam@ptot.texas.gov.  
 
The Texas Jurisprudence Assessment Module (TX JAM) and the legislatively mandated Human Trafficking 
Prevention Training are part of the CCU requirement and must be reported. 

 
New Online Licensing System - First Time Users 
 

First time users of the new Online Licensing System must create an online account with a new User ID and 
Password and then add their license to their account. This step can be completed at any time – you do not 
need to wait until it is time to renew your license.  
 

Step-by-step instructions on how to Create an Online Account and Add Your License to Your Account are 
available online at https://ptot.texas.gov/user-guides/.  

 
Renewal Application and Fee Payment 
 

Log in to your Online Licensing System account to complete the renewal application and pay the renewal 
fee including late fees if applicable. The online application is available for licenses in Active, Inactive, and 
Retired Status including licenses either 90 days prior to the expiration date or late renewals up to one year 
post the expiration date.  
 

Step-by-step instructions on how to Renew Your License are available online at https://ptot.texas.gov/user-
guides/. 
 
 

 
 

 
 

https://ccap.tpta.org/
https://ptot.texas.gov/renew-license/
https://ptot.texas.gov/forms/
mailto:exam@ptot.texas.gov
https://ptot.texas.gov/user-guides/
https://ptot.texas.gov/user-guides/
https://ptot.texas.gov/user-guides/
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Tips for Renewing Your License   
 

You must report your CCUs, submit the renewal application and pay the renewal fee to complete the 
renewal process. Here are some helpful tips to ensure that your online license renewal is successful. 
 

• Plan Ahead: Start obtaining your CCUs well before your license expiration date. The two-year 
renewal period in which you must obtain your CCUs is the first day of the month following your 
previous expiration date through your current license expiration date. For first time renewals, your 
renewal period begins on the first day of the month following your license issuance month and 
extends beyond twenty-four months to transition to birth-month renewal. 
 

• Keep Accurate CCU Records: Maintain thorough records of your CCUs including the TX approval 
number for each course/activity. You can use the CCU Tracker at https://ccap.tpta.org/ to help keep 
track of your CCU documentation. You must maintain the original completion documents for four 
years after your license expiration date and submit them to the Board if you are randomly selected 
for the CCU Audit or if the Board requests them for some other reason. 
 

• Check for TX Approval Numbers: Each course or activity that you report for your CCUs must have a 
TX approval number. The course approval number or TX Accredited Provider number should be 
listed on the certificate of completion you receive after completing a course that is approved for TX 
CCUs. Activities that qualify for CCUs will have a pre-approved number assigned by the Board. Links 
to a list of Accredited Providers and Pre-Approved Categories with their Approval Numbers is 
available online at https://ptot.texas.gov/cc-ce/.  
 

• Renew Early: Don’t wait until your license is about to expire before starting the renewal process. 
There is a 90-day eligibility window prior to your license expiration date in which you can report 
your CCUs, complete the renewal application and pay the renewal fee. Renew early to avoid last 
minute delays in renewing and to avoid interruption in your eligibility to practice. If your license 
expires before updated license information is displayed on the online verification system, you may 
not practice until the renewal process has been completed.  
 

• Verify Your Renewal: Check the online license verification system to confirm that your license 
expiration date has been updated. It could take the renewal system 1-2 days to update the reporting 
of your CCUs if you submit them online, and longer if you submit them through 
exam@ptot.texas.gov. That’s why it’s important not to wait until the last minute to start your 
renewal process. 
 

The verification system can be accessed at: 
https://vo.licensing.hpc.texas.gov/datamart/selSearchType.do.  

 
 
 
 

 

 

https://ccap.tpta.org/
https://ptot.texas.gov/cc-ce/
mailto:exam@ptot.texas.gov
https://vo.licensing.hpc.texas.gov/datamart/selSearchType.do

